Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the supreme directing and decision-making organ of the REC. The members of the Board of Directors are appointed by the signatory countries of the REC′s Charter.


Jari Vilen

Chairman of the Board

Ambassador and Head of Delegation
Delegation of the European Union to the Council of Europe, Strasbourg


Argent Alltari

Director of Minister’s Cabinet, Ministry of Environment, Albania


Laszlo Borbely

Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee; Parliament of Romania, Chamber of Deputies, Romania


Massimo Cozzone

Senior Officer, Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, Italy


Ryo Fujikura

Professor, Hosei University, Japan


Marie Haga

Executive Director, Global Crop Diversity Trust, Norway


Istvan Joo

Danube Region Strategy Ministerial Commissioner, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Hungary


Timo Tapani Makela

former Director, Global and Regional Challenges, LIFE, DG Environment, European Commission


Laszlo Pinter

Professor and Senior Fellow, Central European University & International Institute for Sustainable Development


Hasan Z. Sarikaya

Undersecretary (retired), Ministry of Environment and Forestry, Turkey

Follow us on: REC Facebook REC LinkedIn REC Twitter REC Stream

Board members' area

Email address:


Password reminder

Office network
Project website
Sign up to receive our regular email updates